It’s a bit of a fine-tuned ritual for me, as anyone who knows me will attest – the morning café. I started dabbling in my 20’s, living in Seattle, a morning coffee before I started the painting day, I had an apartment on Lake Washington, and decent local cafe a few minutes stroll away. I’d take my camera and detour along the shore – snap some pics of ducks and geese on the lake en route.

Returning to Melbourne in 2001 it soon became the one regular event of my day, and my retrurn coincided with Melbourne’s emeregence as, in my humble opinion, the good coffee capital of the world. I can say that with some confidence as no matter where I’m travelling in the world I always seek out a cafe in the morning, and while Europe has the most stunning and atmospheric cafès(particularly Paris, Vienna and the entire country of Italy), for pure coffee flavour and excellence – Melbourne is the place.

At the risk of having already alienated 90% of non-Melburnian people reading, here are some sketches and tales from a smattering of cafés I’ve warmed seats in over the years, in no particular order…

image
Compañia del Tropico de Cafe y TE
Cordoba, Spain
2008

I learnt a valuable lesson in Cordoba, an obvious one now – for a better coffee in Europe, order what the locals order. The barista did make a cappuchino, my usual drink, when I ordered it, but it wasn’t very good. I listened to these locals early in the morning(the streets buzz late into the night in Spain, but they also get started early which I love) and my second coffee here was a ‘Café con Leche'(coffee with milk), and it was delicious.
The men were obviously long-time regulars, and while I only caught the odd word in their conversations, I enjoyed their animation and running commentary on the local early morning news on the mounted television glowing in the corner.
image
The most beautiful water containers in Spanish cafés too, a sketch of a lion-headed porcelain jug in a Madrid cafe.

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

Monmouth Coffee Company(view from)
Borough Market
London
United Kingdom
2007

Any Antipodean moving to London soon learns that the only cafés safe to drink at are those owned or run by Australians of New Zealanders.
As it happens the MCC’s main cafe is at the gourmet Mecca of Borough Market, so after you’ve shopped for duck eggs, italian truffles and wild partridge(n.b. I never bought any of these items there, but one could…) I’d settle into this large hole-in-the wall cafe for some beautiful coffee, and a read of the Guardian(Yes, I am ok with being a cliché). It was a regular crowd of Aussies and Kiwis, and gourmand London-types.

_______________________________________________________________________________
image
Imperial Hotel Breakfast Room
Delhi
India
2010

Joh and I stayed in some gorgeous hotels in Rajasthan, but when we first landed in India it was a less than auspicious little inn in Old Delhi. And then we discovered the Imperial – one of the great classic hotels of India. We didn’t actually stay there…we’d get a tuk-tuk there every morning and slip into the luxurious 1920’s dining room for breakfast and coffee…Very distinctive coffee in India, a subtle spiciness, which I was never sure was added or just inherent in the local coffee beans.
Mostly wealthy Europans breakfasting here, and Indian business folk. After a couple of coffees I’d leave Joh reading through the papers and explore this hotel’s superb art collection on display around the corridors.

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

65 Degrees
309 Exhibition Street, Melbourne
Australia
2014

This is perhaps my favourite Melbourne city cafe, originally discovered because it’s open at 6am weekday mornings. The coffee is delicious, they roast it themselves, and the Edwardian era building is a bonus. Mostly a business crowd, and I don’t often sketch there, but I do love leafing through The Age at their counter while it’s still dark outside and sipping 2-3 cappuchino before I get into my city errands.

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

Cafe Edison
New York
USA
2013

This was a very nice discovery on my North American trip last year, a cafe quite close to my hotel near Times Square. It was a part of the Hotel Edison, and what it lacked in decent coffee(Classic American diner percolator coffee) it made up for in New York ambience. It’s old-world New York, the ornate interior is a former ballroom(I think that’s the old band stand in the top right). It was quite busy on both visits, a mix of New Yorkers and tourists, and I was seated at the beautiful curved counter both times. The matzo ball soup was amazing!

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

Caffe E Panforte
Florence
Italy
2011

This guy was great. Surly as all hell to me and every other guy in there, but he’d have a real spring in his step and a twinkle in his eye with every woman who entered…Cappuchinos were good, but once again it’s the old world elegance and ambience of European cafés that make them so special. This place was right off Piazza Republica, where we were staying last time, and after a walk and a sketch and lots and lots of photos on the beautiful streets of Florence it was lovely to warm up in here with a coffee and a panforte, and a pissed-off glance from this guy.

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

Market Square Cafe
Sinaw
Oman
2007

This is a view of a coffee seller from a small cafe in Sinaw, a market town in eastern Oman. A fascinating place, Joh and I stopped in here on our drive south towards Sur, researching for my first commission from the Sultan of Oman. The coffee was strong and very rich, and we also had some delicious fresh fruit juice at the cafe. It was a wonderful place to sit and watch the market, a mix of resident traders and shoppers and gorgeously attired Bedouin men and women in town to stock-up on supplies. I got caught up later in the fish souk doing portraits of the traders, including one particularly proud fishmonger who insisted on holding up a large tuna as I drew him.

image

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

The Gunshop Cafe
Brisbane, Queensland
Australia
2006

This is one of Brisbane’s sensational cafés, located near the bottom end of Boundary Road in Westend. This was our local when Joh and I first met, our first six months together up in Brisvegas. It was a 5 minute walk form Joh’s flat, and weekends in particular I’d be up early and landing us a table(always big queues here), later to be joined by Joh and the weekend papers. It would be 11am before the local newsagent would get an imported copy of the Saturday Age, but these days the iPad app means no waiting(love it when the world bands together to find solutions for first-world problems…)Wonderful food here, the potato and feta hash cakes are legendary.

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

Café Sperl
Vienna
Austria
2012

A survey of world cafés would not be complete without a Vienese entry. On my most recent visit in 2012 I visited a number of classic cafes – the bohemian Hawelka Café, imperial Café Central(both below in an earlier entry, ‘A Vienese Sketchbook’), and elegant Café(Hotel) Sacher, but I took a particular liking to Café Sperl, near the main city market. It’s a cavernous, L-shaped interior, with shabby old world furnishings and fixtures, and lovely rich wainscotting along the boothes. I almost had the place to myself the morning I walked there, and enjoyed a delicious
Wiener Melange (Viennese Blend), and a croissant( which any Vienese will tell you was developed in Vienna).

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

Café Jorden
Aarhus
Denmark
2007

I visited Aarhus from London in 2007, a weekend tallship festival where I was researching a maritime exhibition I was painting for King Island. It was a lovely Nordic city, all the more atmospheric for the dozens of glorious schooners, barques and clippers in harbour at the time. Cold though, and Café Jorden quickly became my favourite spot to shelter. Thanks to a random ‘bump-into’ of a friend that weekend – one of Lonely Planet’s main Scandinavian writers – I got to know quite a few bars in town too.

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

The Wolseley
London
United Kingdom
2006

My years spent in London are why I’m featuring another of their cafés – it’s not an endorsement of the city’s coffee. And certainly not at the Wolseley – better to order tea here at this Picadilly institution. Such a gorgeous venue though, and it was one of the few breakfast spots in London where the black pudding wasn’t that manky supermarket freezer type. Cafe Nero is the ubiquitous cafe chain in England, and while the venues themselves were often in gorgeous Victorian and Edwardian shop fronts, what really kept me coming back was that I perfected how to forge(with watercolour) the red stamps on their loyalty cards…

_______________________________________________________________________________

image

Jack and Daisy
Pascoe Vale
Melbourne
2014

And this is my current local. A five minute walk away from home – though these days it’s a 45 minute walk with our dog Betsy, and a table out the front. Fantastic coffee, and delicious breakfasts – we come here often on weekends with friends and they do a roaring trade in the rambling rooms and courtyard.


Well, there’s an even dozen cafés over the last few years, the proverbial ‘tip of the iceberg’ really. And yes I do spend an hour or two in them every day, but as a painter working from home, it’s often my only human interaction in a day, save for Joh, so getting it right is paramount. I could have added more from every city, and lots more countries – France didn’t even get a look in, and Parisian cafés are amongst my favourites. But considering I could easily dedicate an entire blog to cafés and have no problem filling page after page – be thankful I stopped here…

